UMD     This Site

Professor Sennur Ulukus (ECE/ISR) and six international colleagues are the winners of the 2019 IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award for “Energy Harvesting Wireless Communications: A Review of Recent Advances.” The paper was published in the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, Vol. 33, Issue 3, pp. 360-381, January 2015.

Ulukus’ co-authors are Aylin Yener, professor of electrical engineering at the Pennsylvania State University; Elza Erkip, professor of electrical and computer engineering at the New York University Polytechnic School of Engineering, Brooklyn; Osvaldo Simeone, associate professor at the  Center for Wireless Communications and Signal Processing Research, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark; Michele Zorzi, Department of Information Engineering, University of Padova, Italy; Pulkit Grover, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University; and Kaibin Huang, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, the University of Hong Kong.

The paper summarizes recent contributions in the broad area of energy harvesting wireless communications, providing the current state of the art for wireless networks composed of energy harvesting nodes, starting from the information-theoretic performance limits to transmission scheduling policies and resource allocation, medium access, and networking issues. The paper considers in detail the emerging related area of energy transfer for self-sustaining energy harvesting wireless networks, covering both energy cooperation aspects and simultaneous energy and information transfer. Various potential models with energy harvesting nodes at different network scales are reviewed, as well as models for energy consumption at the nodes.

The award will be presented at IEEE ICC 2019 in Shanghai, China on May 21.

Related Articles:
Alumna Jing Yang begins tenure-track position at Penn State
Sennur Ulukus named IEEE Fellow
Ulukus to investigate rechargable networks with energy cooperation
Ulukus is PI for NSF grant on energy harvesting wireless communication devices
Add-on mechanism could increase safety for networked vehicles
Ye, Barg win IEEE Data Storage Best Paper Award
Best paper award for Bergbreiter, St. Pierre, Gosrich at Hilton Head workshop
Clark School names Hamid Jafarkhani 2017 IHOF Inductee
Coelho, Austin and Blackburn win best paper award at ICONS 2017
Work by Raghavan, Chen, Ljubic wins Best Paper Award

April 30, 2019

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Forecasting traffic for autonomous vehicles

NASA Tests Search and Rescue Tech, With UMD Assist

Discoveries from NASA's Parker Solar Probe published in Nature

Rama Chellappa Wins 2020 IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal

New Report Recommends a Path for the Future of Maryland’s Clean Energy Economy

Min Wu, Ray Liu named National Academy of Inventors Fellows

Behtash Babadi wins Clark School teaching award for junior faculty

Measuring Snow From Space

Add-on mechanism could increase safety for networked vehicles

Study: brain’s circuitry can be altered even in adulthood

Back to top  
Home Clark School Home UMD Home