UMD     This Site

The Institute for Systems Research, the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, the Department of Computer Science and the University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies were well represented at Northrop Grumman’s University Research Symposium, Oct. 23–24 in Anaheim, Calif. The event hosted more than 50 technical presentations from 11 Northrop Grumman research focus areas in mission systems and aerospace systems, as well as research in application for learning machines and cybersecurity.

The symposium was organized by Keyla Contreras-Cottin, the University Relations Project Manager at Northrop Grumman Mission Systems.

Categories and University of Maryland presenters included
(ISR participants in bold)

Cognitive Processing and Machine Learning

Understanding and Creating Robust Models of Actions from Observation, by ISR-affiliated Professor Yiannis Aloimonos (CS/UMIACS). NG technical lead: Dave Smallwood.

Adversarial Machine Learning for Cognitive Sensors, by Professor P. S. Krishnaprasad (ECE/ISR). NG technical lead: Isidoros Doxas.

Neuromorphic Signal Processing: From Analytics for Deep Learning to Cortex-on-a-Chip, by Professor John Baras (ECE/ISR). NG technical lead: Alex Duba.

Optimized Coordinated Distributed Computing, by Professor Mohammad Hajiaghayi (CS/UMIACS). NG technical lead: William Koehl.

Science of Test
(Half the presentations in this category were from the University of Maryland)

Non-destructive test for Trojans via IR Imaging, by ISR Director Ankur Srivastava (ECE/ISR). NG technical lead: Mike Fitelson.

Co-design of structure and intelligence for embedded system optimization, by Professor Shuvra Bhattacharyya ECE/UMIACS) and ISR-affiliated Associate Research Scientist Cornelia Fermüller (UMIACS). NG technical lead: Sean Cosentino.

Learning to Collaborate, by Professor Jeffrey Herrmann (ME/ISR). NG technical lead: Mahasa Zahirnia.

Pattern recognition based on photonic systems for aerospace engineering applications (PREPA), by Associate Professor Yanne Chembo (ECE/IREAP). NG technical lead: Isidoros Doxas.

Cyber resilience and software safety

Discovering and mitigating hardware-based cyber vulnerabilities (e.g. Spectre), by Assistant Professor Dana Dachman-Soled (ECE) and ISR Director Ankur Srivastava (ECE/ISR). NG technical lead: Farrokh Abrishamkar.

Securing deep learning against adversaries, by Associate Professor Tom Goldstein (CS/UMIACS). NG technical lead: Jeffrey Avery.

Quantum sensing and processing and systems resilience

Emerging IoT technologies for distributed and collaborative sensing, by Professor Nuno Martins (ECE/ISR) and Assistant Professor Yasser Shoukry (ECE). NG technical lead, Alex Marakov.

Research in Applications for Learning Machines (REALM) Consortium

Multiple Sensors Track Classification, Identification and Correlation, by Rama Chellappa, Vishal Patel, JHU; Aswin Sankaranarayanan, CMU; René Vidal, JHU. NG tech leaders were Nick Lemmer, Dan Benzing, Claudio Marino and Brad Pitzer. In this category’s student research poster competition, Rama Chellappa’s student, Pirazh Khorramshahi, presented on Vehicle Re-Identification (AI City Challenge 2019).

Related Articles:
New security method for integrated circuits developed by Srivastava-Northrop Grumman team
Clark School faculty 'AIM-HI' to address major health challenges
Gang Qu gives tutorial presentation at DATE 19 Conference
‘Smellicopter’ drone uses live moth antenna to seek smells, avoid obstacles
Srivastava testing security of new delay locking technology
Cornelia Fermüller is PI for 'NeuroPacNet,' a $1.75M NSF funding award
Wu and Wong granted U.S. patent for method to detect counterfeiting
New 'Age of Information' approach to the distributed machine learning problem of 'straggling' worker machines
Computational framework automatically optimizes the shape of tissue engineered vascular grafts
Babadi, Chellappa contribute to Springer reference work on computer vision

November 5, 2019

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Proloy Das Receives Honorable Mention in Charles Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Competition

Alum Victor De Oliveira elected Fellow of American Statistical Association

Alum Himanshu Tyagi promoted to Associate Professor at  Indian Institute of Science

Firebird Tour Makes Stop in St. Mary’s County

Chapin, Fiaz and Mavridis win Wylie Dissertation Fellowships

Nikolas Francis on the Neurophysiology of Listening

UMD Researchers to Design Greener Aircraft Engine

Voice-activated telehealth technology could strengthen patient-physician connection

Maryland Joins NSF-funded Effort to Help Set Nation's Direction for Engineering

Biofilm-fighting system for urinary catheters proves effective in simulated environment

Back to top  
Home Clark School Home UMD Home